FAQ

FAQ - Frequently asked questions

Three white cubes with one black icon each: a question mark, a smiley face and an arrow pointing to the right.

Donations in kind? Project countries? Use of the donations? The 10 most frequently asked questions about terre des hommes schweiz and the answers.

terre des hommes switzerland works in 10 countries in Africa and Latin America.
Africa:

Mozambique, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Tanzania, Western Sahara
Latin America: Brazil, El Salvador, Colombia, Nicaragua, Peru.

terre des hommes switzerland supports in Switzerland multiple projectsincluding the participatory youth project imagine - the project for diversity and tolerance. We also provide information on development policy issues and participate in nationwide Campaigns together with other organisations.

By doing this for us Donations. Simple but true: In order for our project partners in the South to continue their work, they need continuous financial resources. Free donations are best, which we can use where they are most urgently needed. If you would like to give your donation to a specific topic, you have the possibility to Theme sponsorships. Regular donations help us to plan for the long term.

Yes. as a non-profit organisation, terre des hommes schweiz is tax-exempt and donations to our organisation are tax deductible. We will send you a donation receipt at the beginning of February for all your donations from the previous year, which you can enclose with your tax return.

terre des hommes switzerland has the Zewo seal of approval for non-profit organizations. This has numerous criteria that determine the conscientious handling of donations.
In addition to the Zewo, there are various other foundations and institutions to which we must regularly give account of our work. These include the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation, SDC, from which we receive a programme contribution.
terre des hommes schweiz has various instruments with which we ensure that the funds are well used and have an impact. These include project visits and reporting. More on this topic under the heading "How we work“.

Private donations account for about 60 percent of our financial resources. They are the most important source. About 30 percent are provided by the SDC We receive a further 10 percent from foundations and organizations. We also receive money from cantons, communities and churches.

Private donations account for about 60 percent of our financial resources. They are the most important source. About 30 percent are provided by the SDC We receive a further 10 percent from foundations and organizations. We also receive money from cantons, communities and churches.

It could be that there is also mail from another terre des hommes organisation. There are various organisations in Switzerland that have "terre des hommes" in their name. We are terre des hommes switzerland. You can recognize our postal service by the logo that you see on the top left of the website.

Depending on whether you are a donor, a project sponsor or have never been in contact with us before, you will receive mail from us one to (in rare cases) six times a year.

Not for kids. You can, however. Sponsorship for a specific topic take over.

Child sponsorships are a marketing instrument that suggests a personal bond between sponsor and child and serves to bind donors. It also creates the impression that donated money is received more directly. However, child sponsorships involve administrative work and there is a risk that children are instrumentalised. ZEWO, which awards the seal of approval for charitable organisations in Switzerland, rejects individual sponsorships.

No. terre des hommes schweiz does not organise adoptions. We are committed to ensuring that children and young people have a future in their home country.

No. terre des hommes schweiz does not accept clothing or donations in kind. We strengthen local resources in the project countries and do not have the logistical means to transport goods in a sensible way.

In our project countries, we do not hire interns as a matter of principle, as we work with local partner organisations in addition to employees.

Occasionally we offer internships in our Basel office. These will be here advertised.

Any other questions?

Did you not find your question in the list? Ask us the question directly via Twitter or on our Facebook page.

Scroll to Top

FAQ – Häufig gestellte Fragen

Drei weisse Würfel mit je einem schwarzem Icon: Ein Fragezeichen, ein Smiley und einem nach rechts weisenden Pfeil.

Sachspenden? Projektländer? Einsatz der Spendengelder? Die 10 häufigsten Fragen zu terre des hommes schweiz und die Antworten darauf.

terre des hommes schweiz arbeitet in 10 Ländern in Afrika und Lateinamerika.
Afrika:

Moçambique, Zimbabwe, Südafrika, Tansania, Westsahara
Lateinamerika: Brasilien, El Salvador, Kolumbien, Nicaragua, Peru.

terre des hommes schweiz unterstützt in der Schweiz mehrere Projekte, unter anderem das partizipative Jugendprojekt imagine – das Projekt für Vielfalt und Toleranz. Wir leisten zudem Informationsarbeit zu entwicklungspolitischen Themen und beteiligen uns an schweizweiten Kampagnen gemeinsam mit anderen Organisationen.

Indem Sie für uns Spenden. Einfach aber wahr: Damit unsere Projektpartner im Süden ihre Arbeit fortsetzen können, brauchen sie kontinuierliche finanzielle Mittel. Am besten sind freie Spenden, die wir dort einsetzen können, wo sie am dringendsten benötigt werden. Falls Sie Ihre Spende einem bestimmten Thema zukommen lassen möchten, haben Sie die Möglichkeit zu Themenpatenschaften. Regelmässige Spenden helfen uns, langfristig zu planen.

Ja. Als gemeinnützige Organisation ist terre des hommes schweiz steuerbefreit und Spenden an unsere Organisation können von den Steuern abgezogen werden. Wir senden Ihnen jeweils Anfang Februar eine Spendenbestätigung für Ihre gesamten Spenden des Vorjahres zu, die Sie Ihrer Steuererklärung beilegen können.

terre des hommes schweiz verfügt über das Zewo-Gütesiegel für gemeinnützige Organisationen. Diese hat zahlreiche Kriterien, die den gewissenhaften Umgang mit Spenden festlegen.
Neben der Zewo gibt es verschiedene andere Stiftungen und Institutionen, denen wir regelmässig Rechenschaft über unsere Arbeit ablegen müssen. Dazu gehört auch die Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit, Deza, von der wir einen Programmbeitrag erhalten.
terre des hommes schweiz hat verschiedene Instrumente, mit denen wir sicherstellen, dass die Gelder gut eingesetzt werden und Wirkung erzielen. Dazu gehören Projektbesuche und Berichtswesen. Mehr zu diesem Thema unter der Rubrik “Wie wir arbeiten“.

Private Spenden machen rund 60 Prozent unserer finanziellen Mittel aus. Sie sind die wichtigste Quelle. Rund 30 Prozent werden durch die DEZA abgedeckt, weitere 10 Prozent erhalten wir von Stiftungen und Organisationen. Des weiteren erhalten wir Geld von Kantonen, Gemeinden und Kirchen.

Private Spenden machen rund 60 Prozent unserer finanziellen Mittel aus. Sie sind die wichtigste Quelle. Rund 30 Prozent werden durch die DEZA abgedeckt, weitere 10 Prozent erhalten wir von Stiftungen und Organisationen. Des weiteren erhalten wir Geld von Kantonen, Gemeinden und Kirchen.

Es könnte sein, dass darunter auch Post von einer anderen terre des hommes-Organisation ist. Es gibt in der Schweiz verschiedene Organisation, die “terre des hommes” im Namen tragen. Wir sind terre des hommes schweiz. Sie erkennen unsere Post am Logo, dass Sie auf der Webseite oben links sehen.

Je nachdem, ob Sie Spender sind, eine Projektpatenschaft haben oder noch nie mit uns in Kontakt waren, erhalten Sie ein- bis (in seltenen Fällen) sechsmal pro Jahr Post von uns.

Nicht für Kinder. Sie können aber eine Patenschaft für ein bestimmtes Thema übernehmen.

Kinderpatenschaften sind ein Marketing-Instrument, das persönliche Bindung zwischen Paten und Kind suggeriert und der Spenderbindung dient. Es entsteht auch der Eindruck, dass gespendetes Geld direkter ankommt. Kinderpatenschaften sind jedoch mit administrativem Aufwand verbunden und es besteht die Gefahr, dass Kinder instrumentalisiert werden. ZEWO, die in der Schweiz das Gütesiegel für gemeinnützige Organisationen vergibt, lehnt Einzelpatenschaften ab.

Nein. terre des hommes schweiz organisiert keine Adoptionen. Wir setzen uns dafür ein, dass Kinder und junge Menschen in ihrem Heimatland eine Zukunft haben.

Nein. terre des hommes schweiz nimmt keine Kleider und Sachspenden entgegen. Wir stärken lokale Ressourcen in den Projektländern und verfügen nicht über logistische Möglichkeiten, Güter sinnvoll zu transportieren.

In unseren Projektländern stellen wir grundsätzlich keine Praktikanten ein, da wir neben Angestellten Koordinatoren mit lokalen Partnerorganisationen zusammenarbeiten.

Gelegentlich bieten wir Praktikumsstellen in unserem Büro in Basel an. Diese werden hier ausgeschrieben.

Weitere Fragen?

Haben Sie Ihre Frage nicht in der Liste gefunden? Stellen Sie uns die Frage direkt über Twitter oder auf unserer Facebookseite.